waiting for labor and starting my residency

That’s exactly what’s been going on in my life this week. My sister is literally on the verge of popping out my next nephew and I am dying to meet the little dude. Being in another state makes me all the more impatient because I’m sitting on the edge of my seat wondering when to book a flight or grab the Jer and hop in the car. I literally call or text my sister every day: “How are you feeling??? Any contractions??? WHEN IS THIS BABY COMING?!?!?!” Anytime she calls I answer the phone, “ARE YOU IN LABOR?” (although I’ve tried to stop this. It has to be annoying.) Every day I practically wake up with my fingers crossed that today will be the day. And then I pray that it would be, or that at least tomorrow would be. I’ve been thinking about and anticipating this so much that I think I’ll be in a state of disbelief when it happens for real. Wait, I’m sorry. My big sister is about to have a SON out in the world?! Jigga what? That’s actually happening?? Unbelievable. Can’t wait. Cannot wait.

Thank goodness I’ve had a busy week through all of this waiting. I started my residency this week instead of being on break like most of my classmates, due to the uncertainty of when I’ll travel to Minnesota + the Hong Kong trip we scheduled for the second week of the upcoming term. I spent Monday and Tuesday at a Cardiology clinic, and Wednesday Thursday at an urgent care. Mostly its odd to be in clinic for four full workdays in a row. It’s also kind of awesome. I love my life as a student–and I’ll be very sad to give it up come August–but its exciting to practice a bit of what life as a working NP really feels like. I am pleasantly surprised at what a great fit FNP work in primary care continues to be for me. I sort of laugh-cringe when I think back on my 22-year-old self who was convinced I had no interest in ever touching primary care with a ten foot pole. This is not the first time in my life I can say that if you had told me five years ago this is where I’d be now, I would have said YEAH RIGHT. I like when life is like that.

Well I don’t have much else to say. Just had to get some of my OH-MY-GOSH-WHEN-IS-THIS-BABY-COMING-PLEASE-HOW-ABOUT-RIGHT-NOW energy out, and figured I’d share a little bit of my week with you. Hope you are well! Xoxo.

One comment

  1. jean moore · April 29, 2013

    I love you!!

Leave a comment