2013: here to stay

It’s Tuesday, January 8th. A day for jumping back into school. Yesterday, really, was the first day of the term, but I had trouble getting much past reviewing my syllabi. I needed one more day of vacation! A vacation from the vacation! Or, a time to rest in my own home a bit. Actually probably most accurately one more day to recuperate from the short-lived illness that sprung up upon our return to Chicago. Anyways, look at these beautiful faces!

Manns_010413_138

I mentioned (right?) that the Mann family Christmas involved a Mann family photoshoot, and the photo above is from said photoshoot. The photographers took some couples pictures, which meant Jeremy and I had a few solo shots as a Junior Mann fam. Isn’t this so totally straight out of the engagement photoshoot we never had?

Manns_010413_077Classic. Anyways, I’m writing because of course the urge to blog usually strikes me upon entering whichever coffee shop I’ve traveled to for some serious school work. And so I’m giving myself one last bit of time to enjoy this wordpress before the crazy sets in.

Usually I’m all about a New Years resolution post, or (my favorite!) a year in review post, but I’m easing into 2013 a little late this year, so I’m taking things slow. I’m still thankful for the promise of a brand new year, and feel a special freedom to start fresh, but there’s been less of a sharp distinction this year. Perhaps it was the fact that this was the first year I haven’t really celebrated NYE in as long as I can remember. (I distinctly remember my father-in-law or someone saying, “Oh yeah, it’s New Years Eve. What time is it?” and looking at my phone to find it was 11:59pm. Then we accidentally watched a video of the ball dropping in 2010. Are these signs of getting old?) Or the fact that we had Christmas #2 on January 2nd. But I feel surprisingly ok about the soft start. I’ve got modest resolutions this year, which I’m intending to keep.

I’ve never been one of those people who has a “life verse” or a theme or word that stands out as meaningful for particular seasons. But looking over the past 3 months (which have arguably been the most stressful months of my life so far), has made me sure of one thing: I don’t want to live like that. The coming months have to be different.

And so, the word peace has been rolling around in my mind lately. The stress of school is not going to go away. 2013 is going to bring new concerns about finding a job, passing my NP boards, and stepping into an entirely new role. But I want peace to color the way I respond to the things that come my way. So there it is. My theme of 2013. Peace. You want to know something crazy? Yesterday was sort of the kick off of Jeremy and my New Years resolutions, and I started off the morning reading from one of my favorite devotional books, Streams in the Desert. The short reading directed me to Philippians 4, where I stumbled upon Philippians 4:5b-7:

“The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your heart and mind in Christ Jesus.”

These are such famous verses. Why don’t people memorize verse 5b?!?! THE LORD IS AT HAND! What a perfect reminder as we start the new year. We have peace, not because we have no sin, or favorable circumstances, but because the Lord is at hand!!! Also, the peace guards our hearts and our minds in Christ. This, people, we need.

I hope your 2013 is starting off swimmingly. We’re going to have crappy days. We’re going to fail at our resolutions. But take heart, the Lord is at hand. Xoxo.

One comment

  1. moberglauren@gmail.com · January 9, 2013

    Love this figs!!! And LOVE the Mann fam pics. 🙂 What gorgeous peeps.

Leave a Reply

