December things

IMG_0153Got to enjoy this baby today: The Caramel Brulée latte. What a wonderful creation. It seriously does for me in winter what the iced Caramel Macchiato does for me in the summertime. Especially when it’s served in a mug, topped with whipped cream (INDULGENCE) and those dreamy bits of caramel hard candy deliciousness. OH. kay. Yum.

It’s the end of week 3/5 of the Adult I/Internal Medicine course that will take me to Christmas break. I think I’m suffering from remnants of PTSD (induced by my peds course), but I’m doing my very best not to treat the last five weeks of this term like a continuation of the first ten. I keep telling myself, it’s not too late, you’re not behind yet, there’s time to do well yet.

Three things specifically have been a blessing to me in the past week. First, the arrival of the Canon has been surprisingly comforting. Perhaps it’s the distraction, or simply the challenge to develop in areas unrelated to my study and to take a little more notice of life as its swirling around me during this especially busy season. There’s a blog I check up on pretty regularly written by a crafty, Jesus-loving woman with 4 kids, a husband, and a passion for photography. She invites her readers to participate in a monthly photo project she calls ten on ten, which involves taking one photo every hour for ten hours on the tenth of the month. The point is to find beauty and joy in the normal, day to day moments of life, even in the midst of especially difficult, busy, or boring seasons we go through. I’ve always thought this would be neat to try, and the new camera makes it feel like an especially fun and doable challenge.

The second blessing is (as it has been before) my clinicals. I had my third day of this new internal medicine rotation on Thursday, and I was just struck by what a gift it is that I get to do what I’m doing. My new preceptor is awesome (I’m three for three on great preceptors so far) and the environment she creates is one especially suitable for learning. I can’t believe how much I am learning in such a short period of time, and I continue to thank God that clinical is still the absolute bright spot of my program. I love the patients I see, and each time I spend a day in clinic I am filled with a renewed sense of purpose and excitement for my future work.

The third way I’ve felt especially blessed this week is through friends. We’ve celebrated THREE birthdays this week, which means we’ve actually seen our friends a decent amount, and I am just so thankful for the ways God has blessed us with real friendships here. It’s not something I take for granted, because I know it’s often not easily come by. I’m keenly aware that there may be no other season in our lives quite like the one we’re in now.

Jeremy is working hard prepping for his finals this week, and I should probably follow his lead and get moving myself. Love and hugs to all of you far away!

Leave a Reply

