Be still, my soul

The older I get, the more I wonder how anyone gets on in life without God. Even the smallest of my troubles have the ability to overwhelm me. I fail to hold together my own neatly laid plans. When I am on top of life, at the top of my game, convinced I am in control of my life, I am reminded that I am so not. I am reminded that we are so not in control of our lives.

God is the most loving of beings, whose love is simply greater and more comprehensive than we have the ability to grasp. He created and upholds the Universe, exists for eternity, knows all things, and yet he reaches down to our little lives. I am struck today by his faithfulness and provision. Not because everything is going according to plan (in fact, it is going quite not according to plan), but because today I can see the smallest glimpse of evidence that he is indeed at work in my life.

Isn’t it so true that we are constantly forgetting who God is? More and more I am aware of my need to be reminded of him every day. Every hour, even. I am a Christian, and I have been for almost 20 years. But the world can be a tumultuous place, and my human soul is in deep need of a Savior at all times. Today as I rode on the train, on my way to a meeting with my advisor [to discuss how to not fail my peds course], and thinking of a dear man of God whose life was taken last night, one of my favorite old hymns reminded my soul of the following:

The Lord is on your side. In every change, God will remain faithful. Your best, your heavenly friend leads you through thorny ways to a joyful end. Your God will undertake to guide your future as he has the past. The waves and winds still know his voice who ruled them while he lived on Earth. He comes to soothe your sorrows and your fears. The hour is hastening on when we shall be forever with the Lord, when disappointment, grief and fear are gone, sorrow forgot, love’s purest joys restored. 

Praise to the Lord, the only one able to still our souls amidst the stormy waves of life. And who promises to us the restoration of love’s purest joys.

Leave a Reply

