times off

It’s official: I am ON VACATION. Woooooooooo hoooooooooo!!!!! I’ve got four whole beautiful days to fill with whatever I darn tootin’ well please. Nothing is looming over my head. No deadlines. No papers. No information to pack in. No place to be. It is a beautiful thing. Originally, I was not looking forward to this week. I thought it would be seriously lacking in vacation quality for the following reasons:

a. I started clinical early (last Friday).

b. Jeremy is moving to IIT on Tuesday, where he’ll be for SIX WEEKS (no, our marriage is not on the rocks; TFA’s infamous summer Institute is finally upon us).

c. I’m still scheduled to work (you know, that real job I have).

But I pushed my work days to Friday and Saturday, decided to schedule my next clinical day for Monday of next week, and I’m starting to make peace with the fact that I’ll be living sans husband for the next month. Sigh of relief. It’s happening. If only for a few short sweet days, vacation is totally happening. Thank you, Lord.

So this is what I’m doing this summer (and by “this summer” I mostly mean Monday through Thursday):

1. GETTING FIT, MUTHA MUTHA. Yes, I did it. I joined a gym. I never thought I’d join a gym, and to be honest, my inner human feels conflicted (ashamed?) about it. But I am finally admitting to myself I have so LITTLE will power to be healthy, I need to pay someone a pocketload of cash each month to force myself to work out. I’ve been to this gym three times now and each time I’ve learned a new lesson:

Day 1: Creepers will creep on you. Think of a fake name to have in your back pocket at all times. Also maybe adopt a phrase you can just drop on them, like “I don’t talk when I’m working out”. Avoiding eye contact, pretending not to hear them, and then responding dopily by saying, “huh?” every time they persist will not work. Maybe buy a shirt that says “I’m married” or “NOT here to meet dudes” to work out in.

Day 2: Zumba is fun. Maybe not always the most strenuous exercise, but definitely FUN and worth doing.

Day 3: I just may be the least in shape, least flexible, least strong person that attends this gym. If you find yourself learning this same lesson at a gym, you should know that this is actually a great place to be. You’ve got nowhere to go but up. Also, you’re not going to fool anyone into thinking you are even remotely fit, so there’s no need to try and hide your lack of fit-ness. Freedom.

I’m determined to keep up the work. 26 is the year of getting my fitness on. I’m declaring it. Ok. Moving onto other things I’m doing.

2. BUYING A PROPER TEAPOT, FINALLY. When Jeremy and I got married, my sweet and generous friend Megan gave us a whole box full of stuff her and her husband no longer needed, and in that box was this beauty:

This kettle has served us well for four years, three of which were spent living with kitchens that had no microwaves. But ever since I started using this teapot ALL the time (summer of ’08), I’ve wanted to get one that I enjoy looking at. So TODAY, of all days, I finally sat down and ordered THIS baby:

Whoa! Now there’s a breath of fresh air! I can’t even tell you how excited I am for that thing to make its way onto my doorstep. Having everyday things in my house that I really enjoy looking at brings me so much joy. I am going to be heating up water every single day. Hang on. It’s 95 degrees in my kitchen. You know what? This teapot is going to help me cope with winter when it comes.

3. HAVING A FACE OFF WITH MY BEDROOM CLOSET.

Note the lack of clothes and the plethora of unused space. Also the yet-to-be-unpacked boxes of books that have been sitting there since August of last year. And finally the loads of stuff (some junk, some the very opposite of junk) that clearly does not have a proper home. Are you embarrassed for me? I’m going to kick this closet in the face.

4. DIY-ING. I am not crafty. I don’t sew. I don’t regularly DIY, but I do get an urge to exercise my creative bones (I have such a way with words) every now and then. I was at Target today (side note: isn’t Target one of the best places on Earth?) doing what I do best (meandering through the women’s clothing section) when I tried on a tank top and thought to myself, “hm. Not so much. But this would make a great top-of-a-dress!” So I bought it, and I’m going to make this puppy:

Into one of these:

Supposedly it’s very easy. Once I find the right fabric, I’ll use this tutorial to help myself along. If I am successful, I am going to be VERY pumped and VERY impressed with myself.

5. GETTING MYSELF TO THE BEACH, ASAP. I’m determined to enjoy the beach on a weekday without the feeling that I should be studying or working on something I’m going to have to turn in soon. An opportunity to do this won’t come up again until August 31st, so I’m pretty set on making this happen.

That’s probably enough to fill my next few days. In addition, I’ll be helping Jeremy move, taking a trip to the dentist, AND Thursday night Jeremy and I will be celebrating our four year anniversary. Holy cow, this has turned into a long post. Here’s to hoping all of these things happen!

4 comments

  1. Cassie · June 12, 2012

    Erin,
    I’m so so so excited for you. This is totally well earned. Perhaps a slight suggestion as well. When you hit said beach I recommend maybe dedicating some time to being refreshed by the Lord. Doesn’t have to be bible reading…maybe its just a few minutes of slience in your busy life to listen to what He has to say. I’ve made some great goals for myself on days off lately and found that I was just more tired at the end of my days off. BUT I added in some time to just sit and listen and it made my days off refreshing and made ready for what was next AFTER my days off. Regardless, GREAT ideas for productivity…LOVE the dress (love target), LOVE the idea of bathing in sunlight, LOVE the idea of tackling that closet! So excited for you that you’re finished for a bit. YOU MADE IT! CELEBRATE! And perhaps during this time when your husband is gone, it could be a time for reuniting with friends via the phone?! Miss you friend! I’ll be praying for you and your marriage as you are apart for a while. Hang in there! As always….YOU GOT THIS!

    • erin · June 12, 2012

      Thanks for these words, Cass. I so appreciate your wisdom. I’m taking your advice to heart! Also love the idea of reuniting with friends via phone. 🙂 Love you lots! Thanks for the encouragement, as always!

  2. Beth Nielsen · June 12, 2012

    Awesome times! So happy for you and here’s hoping each item gets checked off your to do list. I know probably better than anybody that just because you have a lot of time does not mean that you get a lot of stuff done, so stick with it and live each day intentionally. I should really take my own advice on that one. Enjoy every moment of your vacation…these are lovely days! Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. Jean Moore · June 12, 2012

    Here’s to a great week off Bear! If you have to let one of your goals go, make it the closet and then when dad and I come, we can go nuts on it with you! XXOO!!

Leave a Reply

