Hey, June

Hello hello. It’s another gorgeous day here in the city of Chicago and I am literally ONE final exam away from one week of freeeeeedommm!!! The two exams I was most worried about are doneskies and my two big make-you-stay-up-all-night-and-want-to-die projects were due last week, so the end is now blissfully in sight. HORAH.

June is my favorite month of the year. It’s the first month of pretty much guaranteed beautiful weather on a consistent basis (after those stinking April showers and random days of FREEZING that pop up in May), and it signifies the beginning of an eagerly anticipated new season. Winter is safely tucked away for a while and we’ve got the whole summer ahead of us to enjoy. Ah, the joys of living in the Midwest.

Sunday was my twenty-sixth birthday. I imagine for a lot of people the year after 25 winds up feeling like a bit of a disappointing anti-climax. Last year was all “Wow! You’re 25! Quarter of a century! Real legitimate adulthood! But still so young!!! The world is your oyster!!!” And this year is more “26? Do people even celebrate turning 26? You’re on your way down, kid. 30’s ‘a comin.” I’ve always loved birthdays, and I’m pretty confident I will love them until I don’t have any left, but just to be safe, I figured I should keep my expectations in check.

The only anticlimactic part of my birthday was that I didn’t feel any different. But this happens every year. Someone will ask me in May, “How old are you, Erin?” “I’m 26. No wait, I’m 25. Hang on, no I’m 26… No, sorry, wait, I’m actually still 25. I guess I’ll be 26 this year.” I get so confused about my age around my birthday, because my husband’s birthday is a month before mine, and my sister’s birthday isn’t until August, and I’ve pretty much spent my entire life calculating my age based on the ages of one of these two individuals. Nothing new there.

The day itself was just about as pleasant as it could have been. My husband gets better at my birthday every year, which makes for already great birthdays that increase in loveliness every year. PLUS, this year June 3rd happened to fall on a Sunday, my absolute favorite day of the week. I decided Sunday is an especially great day for me to have a birthday, because it involves a good balance of all my favorite things: rest, leisure, a bit of work (often in the form of service), interaction with lots of people I really like (of varying acquaintance), light home business (like yard work or satisfying cleaning), and often some incredibly low-key hang out time with good friends. It was a wonderful day, filled with my favorite things.

Later today I’m trying out a trial membership at a gym in my neighborhood. I feel so corporate and so American. If it’s an adventure, I’ll tell you about it.

One comment

  1. Edwina · June 5, 2012

    Happy Belated Birthday!
    I feel the same about turning 31 (this July 3rd) as you do about turning 26. Turning 30 was uber-refined-tequila-crazy-awesome! But I’m looking forward to something more low key this year.

    I love reading your blog… you seem very happy and content with all the wonderful simple things in life. It makes me happy to follow along. 🙂

Leave a Reply

