Piano Power

Officially, I am for reals no joke actually starting piano lessons. This is how I feel:

YIPPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEsssshhhhhhhooooooooot I need to PRACTICE!!!

I thrive with a busy schedule and lots of things to do. Or, that’s what I tell myself. It seems true, most of the time (it seems the most true when I am not busy). I am prone to time wasting when left to my own devices, and staying busy has proved to be my most effective form of therapy. The thing is, I also have a policy against STRESS. And having a policy against stress can be very difficult when you have a tendency to take on things upon things to keep you on track.

This quarter has not been so busy, which is a major change from the INSANITY of starting grad school with 13 credits, a full-time job, and VERY LITTLE RECOLLECTION of how to be a student. I guess this quarter has finally picked up its pace, because (with all the extra extracurriculars of 2012) I’m finally starting to feel a bit squished.

It’s a good feeling, I suppose. But the more squished you get, the more STRESS feels fine and comfy pulling up a chair and settling into your personal space on a regular basis. I don’t want to let this happen.

Everything seems like such a big deal when you’re in it. And then when you’re out of it, it seems like the weirdest thing in the world what a big deal you thought it was. I guess that’s one reason I think it’s so important to maintain a balanced life. I’m in NP school (and I love it, mind you), but I don’t want it to consume my life. I want to make time for reading and serving and spending time with friends and playing the piano.

So I signed up for piano lessons. Actually my husband signed me up for piano lessons. My teacher’s name is Lauren and she is awesome (just what I need, I think). I’m practicing scales, which I get an insane amount of enjoyment from. Lauren is an instructor at Piano Power, which is really official and organized; the kind of place you pay for multiple lessons at once. I couldn’t be more excited about it. I think it will be a wonderful discipline, a good break from sorting through complex science and multiple-choice exam prep. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

