resolution.

I love New Years. I liked it as a kid: an excuse to stay up past midnight, eat junk food and drink sparkling cider? Yes, please. But once I left for college the novelty of New Years Eve began to wear off. It was pretty much just a mildly disappointing, over.rated marker to the end of the Christmas season. It meant back to school, back to life, and not much more than that.

Now I’m 25, and I love New Years more than I probably ever have. I think it really started in 2010, when I seriously and completely began embracing January 1st as a fresh start. It’s my day of jubilee. All the things I neglected to do and all the ways I failed to change in 2011 I commit to letting go. I’m free to start again with all my old hopes and dreams, adding new ones to the mix and believing this just might become the very best year of my life.

So some people hate new years resolutions because no one ever follows them through to the end of the year, but I like them. They are a declaration to myself, that knowing I am bound to fall short will not stop me from having lofty goals and high hopes for the year! This year (for the first time ever AND as an extra measure of accountability for myself), I am publishing my new years resolutions here. And so, my official 2012 resolutions:

1. I will read the entire Bible, using the M’Cheyne Bible Reading Plan

2. I will exercise twice a week (stretch goal: thrice)

3. I will take a true Sabbath every Sunday (no schoolwork, no work work)

4. I will publish a blog post once a week

Do you have any resolutions? We’re only two days into the first full week of 2012, so you’ve got plenty of time to begin and be successful! Cheers! And happy New Year!

2 comments

  1. Beth Nielsen · January 3, 2012

    Well done! Love the optimism. I kind of decided I wanted to read through the Bible in a year and then didn’t solidly resolve to and now I’m 3 days behind. Maybe my resolution should be to be more decisive? 🙂

    • erin · January 3, 2012

      GO FOR IT! I just realized today I should have added “work on learning Spanish 3 hours per week” to my resolutions. Still deciding if that’s going to happen. DECISIVENESS FOR US ALL!

Leave a Reply

