Welcome to the Universe, 2010

In the spirit of the changing year, let’s quick bring back a bit of an old Scottish favorite.

Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
and never brought to mind ?
Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
and auld lang syne ?

For auld lang syne, my jo,
for auld lang syne,
we’ll tak a cup o’ kindness yet,
for auld lang syne.

Did you sing this on New Years Eve? Hum it at least? Please tell me you hummed it. This is such a great song, and we really only have an excuse to sing it once a year. (twice if you sing it right before midnight AND right after–more power to you.)

It’s the New Year. Yes, ok, I hear your criticism, this news is about seven days old. But it still feels fresh.

I love the new year. Not just this one. I mean I love when the year turns from one to the next. It’s not my favorite holiday, and I’m not always doing something teribbly exciting when the big moment comes (although I do have a longstanding tradition of calling my west coast friends from the “future” when I get to celebrate in Minnesota–I guess that’s about as exciting as one can get), but I get sort of giddy about looking ahead at an entire year that’s got NOTHING on it yet.

It’s not about the free calendar space. Allow me to use a self-constructed analogy. It’s about the magic of a blank canvas. Think back to art class in about seventh grade. (unless you’re kind of a painting artist–sorry, this analogy won’t work for you. Don’t feel too bad though. I mean, you can paint.) Your painting actually looks kind of good and you think to yourself, “hey, maybe I’m gettin the hang of this art thing.” In your state of overconfidence you also think, “wow, I think a person would look great standing next to that tree.” And so you throw some strokes on the canvas and it all goes downhill from there. Before you know it, your piece of “art” has become some kind of abstract collection of blobs with far too much brown. Or maybe you merged your person into that tree in hopes to undo what you started and now you just have a really obnoxiously fat, mostly unrealistic looking tree.

I’m not at all saying 2009 was a bad year for me. It’s just that for some reason the changing of the year (and more, the decade!) says to me, “Forget about all that stuff you meant to start last year–THIS is the year to start it all! You’re a new person with superpowers that will allow you to accomplish all the things you’ve ever wanted!!!” Nothing is that different. The world goes on as it does. There’s nothing technically “magical” about a new decade. But it’s like the universe is offering me a fresh start, and it’s cheering me on, too.

I suppose the changing of the year says the same kinds of things to other people, and that’s why everyone makes New Years Resolutions. I think it’s good for us all. It’s good to have a new beginning that the whole planet is on board with.

Here’s to the New Year! Best of the best to all of us in 2010!

Leave a Reply

