oh to be in Minnesota

Autumn at the Basillica of St. Mary in Minneapolis, MNMinneapolis fall

I need a vacation. We need a vacation. It’s time for a vacation. (Here comes your warning: this is not necessarily a good mood post.)

We have not left the state of California for almost one full year. An entire year we have been within the borders of California. That’s gross (no offense, California).

I have not seen my family since May. MAY. That’s almost a half a year ago. That’s dumb. They get to hang out with each other all the time.

It’s lovely and fallish and rainy here, but there is no one to enjoy it with. My friends live about a century away. OR they have regular jobs, which require them to work every day like normal people. So. No coffee dates. No pumpkin spice lattes, unless I want to bike down to the ghetto Starbucks down the street in the rain, to sit inside the laundromat/arcade (what?) by myself.

The cat peed on our comforter. And I slept with it before I noticed. Ick.

Jeremy and I still own the Mazda. Blegh.

I have to do these online modules for work, which means I get to sit in front of the computer for hours on my days off.

You’ll have to excuse my negativity. I’m not saying I have the worst life or that everything is going crappily. I just need a vacation. I’m not the kind of person who says things like “I need a vacation.” But come on. You saw that picture up there.

We’re due for a trip to the Midwest. I haven’t been in Minnesota during the fall in over 5 years. Since High School, people. And in case you didn’t know, Minnesota is the absolute BEST place to be for the season called autumn. My mom and sister called me today while they were out running errands together. It sounds like it snowed there for a day or so, but it’s all gone, and the leaves are still all there and love.ly. I’m sure they probably stopped at some point for a little bit of Caribou (or at least they would have, had I been there to persuade them). It’s probably getting dark early, and I’m sure my mom is making delicious things for dinner.

The Manns are there with their tandem bike. The lakes are there with their beautiful walking, biking, and running paths. My grandparents are there with their nice homes to visit. The air is fresh and brisk. You have to wear boots, or at least real shoes. My pappy is around most of the time, with his silly jokes and delightful sense of humor. The unfriendly cats are roaming the house, and it’s so easy to make them hiss (and ah, what a blissful pastime). I’d like to go.

4 comments

  1. bex mann · October 14, 2009

    e.r.i.n. I feel for you. Also, Josh doesn’t like when I complain either. In my view you are simply being authentic at this point and just sharing from your heart and your perspective. And it’s kind of a little funny, too…mostly just the part about the cat pee. But still I’m empathetic. I’m SO sorry you haven’t been home for so long and are missing such delightful seasons and memories with the sweet, generous and amazing Moore and Mann families. Boo about the Maz. Boo about your weird work hours and dumb online study thingys. Can you just up and take a vacation? Seriously? Do it if there is any way. I cannot believe you’ve been stuck in the state for a whole year and that you have not been home in the fall in like 6 years. What?!?! Erin, please take like a sick week (pretend you have H1N1) and go to Minnesota. You deserve it. I love you sisterfriend. I’m praying for you and rooting for you and I am severely disappointed your closest Starbucks is in laurdry mat/ aracade…what the heck?! Hugs and love to you.

  2. Josh · October 14, 2009

    Erin! I miss you!! I feel for ya–maybe some oregon air will make you feel like you’re in minnesota. i feel ya on a lot of levels…you rock and we’re thinking of ya! btw i think this is a great post, i don’t care what jer says 😉

  3. Jean Moore · October 18, 2009

    Hey Hon! Yeah, it sure would be great to have you home! I can’t believe you’ve not enjoyed fall with us for 5 years – that’s crazy!! We just put the guest room together and are pacifying ourselves with the thought that you guys will be home in December. You’ll get to sleep in Great Granparent Trettels bed (new mattress of course), have your own private bath and even a workout center if you choose! We also just sold our last tube TV on Craigs list and have a new flat screen in your room. If that doesn’t excite you, I am sure dad will make his famous sweet rolls for you. (Probably need the workout center after that!) Love you tons and praying for the next months to fly by, Ma

  4. Paps · October 20, 2009

    What silly jokes?

Leave a Reply

