fall’s coming… i better catch you up on our lives

I’m excited for fall. Ready for the cool weather. And it’s sort of been making its way here. The ants are finally beginning to disappear, the evenings are bringing cool breezes into our apartment again, and we have actually had some cloud cover recently. I’ve been drinking more coffee and even getting to wear my fleece sometimes. And it’s September. So it’s actually almost officially fall. I thought there were a few things I should catch you up on.

For one: Jeremy and I are officially small group leaders!

small group deal

Actually, technically he is the leader, but I am equally excited about it! We had our first night a couple weeks ago, and we have such a great group of people. Some we’ve known for a while now (from the last season of the EP Small Group) and some we’re meeting for the first time. I feel so blessed that God brings so many wonderful people into our home each week.

On a completely different note, we sold the Mazda! This is me kissing it goodbye:

P1010020

Unfortunately, I will be kissing it “hello again” this afternoon. The day after we sold it, the people who bought it called us and told us it was smoking when they got it home. Apparently they took it to a Pep Boys who told them it would cost $2000 to fix. That estimate turned out to be a bit of an exaggeration, but we’re taking it back anyways. Boo. We’ll take it to our own mechanic, get a list of what it actually needs done, and get back to re-selling. That was quite a downer for us. I loved the Maz, and it was a little sad to see it go, but we were kind of hoping that would be the end of it.

Fortunately, that very same day, I found a BIKE! Jeremy and I drove all the way to Simi Valley for this little number:

P1010001

I love it. I couldn’t be happier. It rides smooth and the frame is just my size. Our bike guru friend Austin says it’s a great find. All it needs is a new set of tires. Jeremy and I are going to Santa Monica today to spruce up our bikes so we can finally ride together again! I’m super pumped.

Aside from all that, my work is in full swing and Jeremy is just finishing his second week of school with his new batch of Cochran kids. His days and weeks are still incredibly exhausting, and he’s already had those days where nothing seems to gel quite right at school, but he’s keeping it together like a champ. I think it’s helpful for him to compare the year with his last school year. It feels 100 times better, easier and less scary. But it’s also a bit more discouraging to be running into the same problems he’s been seeing now for more than a year. He knows how to balance his life a little better now, and I’m sure he’ll reach TFA’s goals with his classrooms again this year, but it’s still Gorilla warfare.

Well, folks. That’s about it for now. I’d like to remind everyone from far away that we love it when you come visit us, and there’s always plenty of space on our livingroom couch for you. Much luv to you, fams and friends.

3 comments

  1. Smear · September 18, 2009

    Sweet ride – other than its French, but Im pretty much over the be mad at the French thing – and they do have that bike race………….
    As for the Maz – it kind of reminds me of Jason (not Mann) from Friday the 13th – we all kind of grew to love it – but when we want it to go away, it wont die.
    I amagine California “Fall” to be a bit like the difference between a Minnesota summer morning and evening…….
    Fear the smear,
    ooxx

  2. bex mann · September 18, 2009

    So sorry about the Maz and i love your new bike! Way to go, small group leaders! So proud of you. Enjoy your day off!

  3. Nanook · September 22, 2009

    Blue belle of the bike ball! Nwoice! I’m sure you and Jeremy will have a great time biking together. And a bike is always a good back-up for the Mazda. It might be time to call in Click and Clack. Hopefully, you’ll be kissing the Maz goodbye again soon.

    We’re really proud of both you and Jeremy. Just think, small group leaders and all.

    Lots of love to you both!

Leave a Reply

