what the what

Yesterday started off like any normal summer Friday. Jeremy and I had ourselves a nice breakfast and spent most of the day cleaning out our closets and sending old clothes to the Goodwill. I never could have guessed what I’d find on my voicemail that afternoon.

P1010099

“Hey Erin Mann, this is Brenda. I’m the new unit director for 7ICU. One of the new grads that had previously been coming for August has not passed boards and we’d like to extend that position to you.” Whoa. Whoa. Whoa. WHOA. What?! As I listened to the rest of the message I couldn’t quite believe what I was hearing. The start date: AUGUST 10. Two weeks and two days away.

I ran into the kitchen jumping up and down nearly shouting, “OH my goodness. OH MY GOODNESS.” at Jeremy over and over as I listened. I replayed the message for him and called this woman back as quick as my hands could dial. I heard a voice on the other end of the line: “Erin?” “Yes?” “Do you want a job?” I couldn’t get the words “yes! Absolutely! I would love to start in August!” out of my mouth fast enough. I talked a bit more with Brenda–who seemed awesome, by the way–and hung up the phone in happy disbelief.

Jeremy and I sat down at the kitchen table. The only words we could come up with were along the lines of “WOW.” “Oh my goodness.” “Can you believe this?” “What in the world?” We popped open some champagne courtesy of the MacDonalds and called our parents.

For a couple months now I’ve been making other plans and talking to people about how maybe this could be a neat opportunity to do some other things before full time work starts. However, I’ve also been honest about that fact that if I were the one choosing how the next six months would go, I’d start my new job in August. Well here I am. Starting my nursing job in the ICU in two weeks. Talk about blowing my mind.

I’m still in a bit of a state of shock. I still lose it every once in a while and let out a ridiculous squeal. I’m eager to sign my papers. I feel totally unaware of what the next couple months will be like. Incredibly thankful and excited. I feel like God has taught me a great deal through the past couple months, yet he is graciously gifting me with this opportunity I SO desired when I first applied for the job in March. All I can say is what the what and Dang, Gina.

So our life’s course has yet again been changed with a mere phone call. No doubt I’ve felt this before: here goes nothing.

ronaldreagancourtyard

2 comments

  1. bex · July 26, 2009

    WHAT?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?????? NO FREAKING WAY!!!!!!!!!!!! I have goosebumps over my ENTIRE body right now! I’m sooooooo excited for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Megan Wilmarth · July 27, 2009

    YAY!!! This is so stinking exciting and AWESOME!!!!!!! PTL!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

