trendy

The other day I was riding in my car when I was suddenly hit by the striking realization that my sunglasses have officially gone out of style. No really, they’re terribly out of style. I’m not the kind of person who cares (or notices much, for that matter) when something of mine is not the trendiest thing out there. But these sunglasses are painstakingly obviously out. of. style.

So. I decided to take matters into my own hands and purchase myself some aviators. (I don’t know if aviators classify as ‘in style,’ but I don’t think they technically ever go out of style… and I’ve wanted to look that cool for some time now.) After a wonderful weekend with some friends, I came home determined to find the exact gold-rimmed Banana Republic aviators one of my friends had purchased. (I tried them on. They made me look awesome.) Imagine me in these babies:

aviators

Now imagine me in those babies with no money in my pockets. Because that’s what I was going to look like had I bought these off amazon for a whopping $80. I have a moral objection to spending above $12 on a pair of sunglasses for me for this reason: I’ve been known to step on, sit on, and/or misplace every pair of sunglasses that have ever lived as mine (with the exception of the really out-of-style ones that are still sitting in my car).

So. Struck down, but not destroyed, I came up with the clever idea of searching “aviators” on amazon, instead of “gold-rimmed Banana Republic aviators.” And I came across these babies:

aviators-from-amazon2

And when I say these babies, this time I mean these as in this-order-comes-with-three-pairs-for-the-price-of-one at only $2.06 + shipping. shaBAM! (Yeah, so they look a little bit more like they belong to an old school dirty cop. What of it?) Will I always be longing for those ridiculously-pricey-but-make-me-look-awesome aviators from Banana Republic, or did I come out ahead? You decide.

aviators-0111

2 comments

  1. bex mann · March 27, 2009

    CUTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I actually like the ones you found better than the real deal!!!!!!! Erin, you look so awesome, so hot! 🙂 well done!

  2. Ma · March 31, 2009

    Okay bear – as your mom, I have to ask, did you get any UV protection for that price? Love you! Ma

Leave a Reply

