blog time

baby-kitty

The picture has nothing to do with this post. Just a little eye candy for you to enjoy, compliments of flickr. I’m blogging this evening because an alleged claim was flippantly made by myself (while flipping) that I would try to blog tonight. I didn’t want to disappoint anyone, so here I am. Besides, I’m trying to blog more and I need to get a few things off my chest. To get right to the point:

I’m a blogfectionist. A blogfectionist, in case you haven’t heard, is a perfectionistic blogger. I’m afraid the reason I never blog is due to the fact that I always spend a criminy-dutch-load of time making sure I’ve written something witty that people will think I wrote in a mere few minutes. Sometimes I sit in front of my computer trying to figure out a clever title for a blog post I have in my head and end up forgetting the post all together because nothing I can think of sounds quite catchy enough.

Well, friends. I’ve had an epiphany. I realized three things one day:

1. My original goal was to start a blog so as to encourage myself to write on a regular basis (not to construct lengthy blog posts that will make people think I’m great).

2. I think there are maybe four people tops who regularly check out my blog.

3. Those people already think I’m great.

So here’s to writing more about my life. In shorter spans of time. For example, I think this post has taken me sevenish or so minutes to write. And dag nabit, I’m not going back over it. It’s Erin uncut and unedited, people. In your face.

I could end this entry by making a goal as to how often I will write each week. I don’t think I’m ready for that kind of committment just yet. But all this flipping has me inspired. Be encouraged if you like to read my thoughts. I won’t try and trick you into thinking I’m witty and clever. If those kinds of things end up shining through, so be it.

One comment

  1. bex mann · January 27, 2009

    Woohoo, Erin! I am an avid reader of your blog and am completely convinced you are clever and witty. I love reading your thoughts and watching your videos and getting a little window into your Echo Park, newly married, nursing student world! I love you and am a HUGE Erin fan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

