back to school

backpacks2

Well today was officially my last first day of school. Actually that statement is probably false, but since I’m not enrolled in grad school yet, I think it’s fun to pretend I have no idea whether I’ll go back to school someday just so I can say it.

It was a pretty good last first day. It’s amazing how optimistic four months between myself and graduation has made me. It may also be that I had a strikingly uneventful J term post Christmas vacation with the exception of the semi-surprise visit from my ma. A couple of my friends told me today that this break made them see how it could be fun to be a stay at home mom. I suppose I can agree with the stay at home mom appeal when I imagine having a handful of kids to keep me busy or something, but being home with a whole lot of nothing to do for four whole weeks made me an eager beaver to be back at school today.

In fact, I couldn’t sleep last night. I had a nice morning, too. I popped right out of bed with plenty of time to get ready for the day, and I even got to enjoy some auto-programmed coffee (thanks, mom). I loved being in class and taking notes and having someone go over all the work I’ll be doing for the next few months. I even found myself the perfect monthly/weekly planner.

phn-book2

bible3There’s only one hang-up to this whole going back to school thing: the battle between my Bible class and my nursing clinical. In case you weren’t aware, I have wanted to take this Bible class for three years now. I got up at 3:30 in the morning on registration day last semester just to secure myself a spot. Unfortunately, over J term I received an email from my nursing professor telling me to drop my Bible class because it would conflict with my clinical schedule.

I begged and pleaded and swore I’d take any clinical rotation if it meant I could stay in my precious Bible course. This professor of mine has been working to help me out since, and tomorrow just may be the day the fate of my last semester will be revealed. I have a clinical assignment and whether I can stay in my Bible class depends on whether there is anything crucial I’ll need to attend on Wednesday afternoons. So. There’s still time and a chance, but I could very well be forced to drop The Character of God in exchange for some weak sauce Bible class. If you happen to see this post before Tuesday afternoon, PRAY FOR ME! Heck, even if it is after Tuesday afternoon, go ahead and pray for me. Since God is outside of time, He’ll probably know what you’re going to pray for when it’s “too late.”

I will say this one last thing about school starting up again. It didn’t quite meet all the needs I was hoping it would after a long January. I think that’s good to dwell on. When our lives aren’t totally everything we want them to be, it’s rarely because of one single thing that can be easily gotten. We’re very complex and have many needs.

Peace out for now. And you should be proud: two blog posts in one day. I think that’s a record.

Leave a Reply

