july reading

I made a goal for myself this summer to read one book a month, and then blog about each book after I’d completed it. Well, I finished Till We Have Faces, by C.S. Lewis in about seven days, and I’ve been putting off writing about it for nearly a month now.

I suppose I put off the writing because I had no idea what to say about the book. Before I read it, I had multiple people tell me it was a very difficult book. As I began to read, I had no idea what they were talking about. I found myself speeding through it and never felt like I had missed information crucial to the storyline. But the deeper I got into the book, the more I understood what my friends meant about it being hard, and by the time I finished I had no idea how to reflect on it. The only things I could think through were my emotions as I progressed through the book. Even here, though, those seem difficult to express, and I’m afraid I don’t have much insight to share. This post will have to be a plea for insights from anyone else who has read the book, and might be able to reflect some to my benefit.

Leave a Reply

